Share | 

Limelight on: webby

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Skid
Admin

PostSubject: Limelight on: webby   Mon 01 Dec 2014, 6:28 pm

Name:

Christopher John Webster. (Webby or Web to my mates)

Place of birth:

Brisbane, Australia

Place of residence:

Strathpine, Australia

I'm a car mechanic by trade, did my apprentice ship and a couple of years more, then I gave it away. No great loss to me or the motor trade! Worked as a labourer then a forklift driver, then making moulds for concrete masonry.

Then got process worker, got a job in the store there and 'rose' to the dizzying heights of leading hand. An argument with the General Manager saw me resign from there. After that I started work for a mate fixing caravan & portable refrigeration. Stayed there for 10 years then went to Domestic as a storeman/technican. Worked my way up there to warehouse foreman ( Oh! the sheer POWER!).

Then into the office for Tech Support & Warranty. Was there for 11 years, but a change of management and a lack of support from them saw me resign.

Now back working for my mate fixing fridges/stoves/Air Cons/gas heaters.

After all that, my only formal qualifications I have are as a mechanic with a forklift licence and a restricted LPG licence!

You've had a varied work career Chris, do you have any funny work related anecdotes you can share with us?

I used to do after hours break down/road service work, and if we couldn't fix the car on the side of the road, we'd flat tow it to the workshop, using a solid tow bar and tell the owner to "stay directly behind me and put your brakes on when you see my brake lights'

So, I'm out on the freeway with this overheated Holden- radiator bone dry. Couldn't get it going, he'd cooked it. Hook up the towbar, caution him as above & off we go. I take the exit ramp, he keeps going on the freeway! It got to the point where I could see his left head light in my ute's door mirror.